Reading journey

I just noticed today why I love to read. I feel like I learn more of who I am or what I want. I love Ender’s Game, because I love how they think differently. Andrew feels the need to move around and do something big, but stay humble (or in the background). Even though he doesn’t feel like he can ever be happy again, he is still on the journey to find peace and a bit of happiness that he allows himself. In the Anne of Green Gables, I see how Anne tries so hard to do well. Anne struggles to be true to herself and follow what the caring adults want for her, too. She is finding happiness for her here and now, but also in the future. The Far West trilogy, is a life journey of happiness. The father takes the younger half of his family out west. He thinks that the possibility of happiness of doing something new is going to be better than the happiness of doing the same thing over and over. The main character is on the journey to overcome the unhappiness of being an unlucky thirteenth child. She realizes she is a double seventh child herself (seventh daughter of a seventh son). She wants to be a naturalist out in the uncharted west. I love these journeys. I am trying to figure that key piece that will turn my hard work into that job I find fun.

I want my daughter to find her happiness sooner rather than later. Sure I want her to learn through hard work, but it shouldn’t be hard work her whole life to find that happiness. Right now, I know she loves water/ sea/ ocean animals, cars, and bouncy balls. She is only 2, and I feel like I am rushing things.

Leave a Reply

